A Thought

I lay awake at night, dreaming of solemn things and wishful dreams.

I wish some of these would come to pass, but it seems my only reward is waking up facing glass. People stare at mirrors and wish for the better; for themselves or for the weather. I only wish for my wishes to come true, by day or by night I wish these things through.

My mind gets put to ease then blasted apart; I only hope my ambitions are not faint of heart. I seek for values which can be uncertain, but now all I see is my self-confined prison.

I want to be released from such a wretched thing, because I know I’m keeping myself at bay with my feelings. So let it be heard, and said; my life is controlled by my ill, but I wish it was willed by me, myself instead.

3 thoughts on “A Thought

  1. “So let it be heard, and said; my life is controlled by my ill, but I wish it was willed by me, myself instead.”

    THIS IS ME.
    THIS IS ALL ME.

    Are we like, mind-twins or something? Also, beautifully written. I love the rhyming and word choice. It’s so elegant.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is one of my favorites I’ve written. I find it hard to rhyme anymore because I’ve become so open with my posts, I feel like being poetic about it sugarcoats it. I’m convinced we got separated at birth and are really twins!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

