Expectation IS The Silent Killer?

I am one of those people that considers myself a balloon; I float in the air of my dreams, and am simply tethered down by reality, and every once in a while someone decides to take a pin to my magical aura and burst it with real life situations. It is not a great feeling to lay on the ground of broken dreams, but I’ve come to realize that sometimes it’s my own dreams that have caused my perception of life to come back down to reality.

If you’re a “hopeless dreamer” -as some would love to label it- than you know of this balloon type feeling. You know what it’s like to sit in your bed and dream up fantasies of what life will be like in ten years, who you’ll fall in love with, how the world will be, what adventures will happen in your life. I have news for you “balloon-wanderers”; you’re spoiling yourself. It’s like when you tell someone they’re going to have a surprise party; not only did you spoil the surprise, but now they will sit and think of how grand this party might be and become disappointed when the party actually arrives. Life is meant to be random and full of things you don’t know, so that when they happen it’s one of the grandest things you’ve ever felt.

The mind is one of the most complex things on Earth, and with it’s complex wiring comes the ability to dream up MILLIONS of possibilities to EVERY situation; and you will set the expectation bar of your life so high that you’ll never be able to enjoy even the littlest of surprises.

I am not saying to abandon your dreams -because what we would be as individuals without them?- I am saying that if you ever find yourself dreaming up of that grand life that you might have, just make sure that when you actually reach that point in your life that you were supposed to be living this dream, that you don’t disregard the actual life in front of you. Because sometimes reality is just as magical as the dream.

2 thoughts on “Expectation IS The Silent Killer?

  1. I love this! This is soo accurate! I feel the exact same way, because a balloon life is the only life I can have as a homeschool student (that makes sense, right?) You hit the nail on the head. Thank you for a brilliant piece!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

