Book Lovers Q’s – Tag

A thank to the lovely Grace () for tagging me, (and anyone else who I missed)

Do you have a specific place for reading?
Usually in a VERY quiet room; that is of the utmost importance when I’m reading.

Bookmarks or a random piece of paper?
I do have bookmarks, but to be completely honest sometimes I lay the book open and face the pages downward; and just come back to it later without having to open and close the book.

Can you just stop anywhere, or do you need to finish a chapter?
Finish a chapter! I cringe beyond belief if I stop in the middle of a page.

Do you eat or drink while reading?
I’ve tried multiple times, considering that I’m a snack-a-holic; but I find it to distracting to eat/drink while reading.

Music or TV while reading?
Tried this as well, but I also find it distracting. Even if I’m listening to music without words, it disrupts the mood of the book.

One book at a time, or several?
One book at a time; last time I tried to do two at a single time, I kept mixing up the stories and getting lost in translation.

Do you prefer to read at home, or elsewhere?
I can read anywhere where there is quiet; whether it be my home or someone else’s, or just a random spot.

Read out loud, or silently?
Funny, because I’ve tried reading out loud to help my pronunciation; however I feel that I can’t comprehend the book as well when read aloud, and I can’t imagine the voices or scenery in my head as well.

Do you read ahead or skip pages?
Guilty as charged. Books of the modern age, I definitely skip over needless details that have already been said, and sometimes I’m so engrossed that I scan the next few lines in hopes of a happy ending. However, older books I haven’t done that with.

Breaking the spine or keeping it new?
Oh I love breaking the spine! My dad was actually the first person I ever saw do it, and I’ve done it to almost every book I could. I only bend, for the purpose of the pages not having that incessant curl in the middle; it helps lay them flat when you crack the spine. It’s hard to do on hardcover books, but generally those never need a good crack.

Do you write in your books?
Not at all, though I’m guilty of having drawn on the beginning page of my Great Gatsby book, and also underlining (with pencil) some of my favorite things within a favorite book of mine.

For any other fellow book lover out there, do this challenge! You may come to find something new or forgotten in your hidden pleasures of reading.

Leave a Reply

